

Proclamation Naming Hometown Hero, JJ Pegues, Honorary Mayor for the Day of November 29, 2024

WHEREAS, Oxford's own JJ Pegues has made a name for himself both on and off the field;

WHEREAS, JJ has earned many significant honors, including the 2024 Chucky Mullins Courage Award and the 2023 and 2024 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List which is presented annually to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field, and he was a 2023 and 2024 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Nominee, an award recognizing college football athletes for their unwavering commitment to community service and their "good works" off the field;

WHEREAS, JJ Pegues has found numerous ways to help his hometown including holding his own community-wide school supply giveaway last fall, which helped distribute school supplies for elementary students; Ole Miss' ongoing Reading with the Rebels program, which features student-athletes visiting local elementary schools to read to students to increase support for reading and literacy throughout the state of Mississippi; the local Boys and Girls Club after school programs; the local Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) Back to School event that helps prepare foster students for the start of the school year; and CASA's Adopt-a-Child program, which assists children during the holiday season to name only a few;

WHEREAS, JJ Pegues has been described in the media as a one-man welcome party, especially when it comes to new player acclimation, becoming affectionately known to his teammates as the "Mayor";

WHEREAS, Ole Miss knows when it wants something done, you put JJ Pegues on the frontline;

NOW, THEREFORE,

I, Robyn Tannehill, Mayor of the City of Oxford, Mississippi do hereby proclaim that JJ Pegues will serve as Honorary Mayor on November 29, 2024 effectively making him the Mayor on and off the field while leading the Rebels to an Egg Bowl win.

Mayor Robyn Tannehill

Alderman Rick Addy Alderman Jason Bailey Alderwoman Mary Martha Crowe Alderwoman Kesha Howell-Atkinson Alderman Brian Hyneman Alderman Mark Huelse Alderman Preston Taylor