Online Edition
Wednesday, May 27, 2015

special election

Special election Tuesday

Voters will head to the polls Tuesday to decide between 13 candidates running for the seat in the 1st Congressional District that was left open after the death of the late Rep. Alan Nunnelee. Read about the candidates in today’s EAGLE. (May 7, 2015, Page 1, 8)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Aldermen hopefuls can begin to qualify

    Those Oxford residents living in Ward 6 who feel they have what it takes to represent their neighbors on the Board of Aldermen, can begin qualifying for the election on Feb. 14 to replace former alderman Brad Mayo who resigned after winning the November election to become Oxford’s representative in the House of Representatives. (January 4, 2012, Page 1)

    Share this Oxford Eagle story.

      Runoff election to decide transit position

      While State Rep. Warner McBride took the majority of Lafayette County’s votes in Tuesday’s special election, it wasn’t enough to push him into a runoff for the seat of Northern District Transportation Commissioner.

      Of the 1,718 votes cast locally Tuesday, Warner earned 937 votes. However, when the votes were counted from all the other counties in the district, it was candidates John Caldwell of DeSoto County and Mike Tagert of Starkville who both won 21 percent of the total votes, pushing them into a runoff election on Feb. 1 (January 12, 2011, Page 1A)

      Share this Oxford Eagle story.

        *BREAKING NEWS* Runoff in Miss. transportation race

        JACKSON (AP) — Mike Tagert and John Caldwell Sr. were headed to a runoff for northern district transportation commissioner.

        Unofficial returns from Tuesday’s election showed Caldwell, of Nesbit and transportation director for the DeSoto County School District, leading the seven-candidate filed. Tagert, of Starkville and president of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Council, was second.

        Following closely behind was Rep. Warner McBride with 20 percent of the votes. Tagert and Caldwell both had 21 percent of the votes.

        One precinct in Leflore County remained to be counted Wednesday.

        The runoff election is Feb. 1.

        The winner will fill the vacancy created when Transportation Commissioner Bill Minor of Holly Springs died Nov. 1.

        The winner will serve nearly the final year of a four-year term. (January 11, 2011)

        Share this Oxford Eagle story.

          Few voters at polls

          Voters were trickling into Lafayette County’s 18 voting precincts this morning to cast their ballot for the candidate they think should fill the North Mississippi transportation commissioner seat that became vacant by the Nov. 1 death of Commissioner Bill Minor.

          Turnout was expected to be low today due to possible icy road conditions left over from Sunday’s winter storm that dumped 8 inches of snow in Lafayette County. (January 11, 2011, Page 1)

          Share this Oxford Eagle story.

            **UPDATE* Governor says election still on

            Governor Haley Barbour has ordered the January 11, 2011 Special Election to proceed as scheduled.

            “With inclement weather conditions lingering for voters in the northern parts of the State, we understand circumstances are not ideal for casting a ballot,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. “We want to encourage voters to exercise caution to ensure safety when heading to the polls.”

            (more…) (January 10, 2011)

            Share this Oxford Eagle story.

              Special election still set for Tuesday

              Gov. Haley Barbour has said he will decide sometime today whether to delay Tuesday’s special election due to hazardous road conditions after Sunday’s winter storm dumped several inches of snow and ice on Mississippi roads. (more…) (January 10, 2011, Page 1)

              Share this Oxford Eagle story.

                REMAX Legacy Realty The Highlands, A Private Lake Community