Online Edition
Saturday, May 23, 2015

UPDATED: NCAA announces regional sites

BLOG: Heading into the SEC Tournament, Ole Miss head baseball coach Mike Bianco said he thought if the Rebels made a run his team might be in contention as a regional host.

The Rebels, whose RPI was 18th on Tuesday and is currently 19th (according to Boyd’s World), went 1-2 in the tournament and Sunday evening were excluded from the 16 hosts.Of the 16 sites, four SEC schools — Mississippi State, South Carolina, Vanderbilt and LSU — landed spots.

Other host schools include: Oregon, Oregon State, Virginia Tech, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Indiana, Cal State Fullerton, UCLA, Louisville, Kansas State, Florida State and Virginia. (Kendall Rogers of Perfect Game has a good breakdown of the host schools here; and here’s what Baseball America’s Aaron Fitt has to say about the 16 host sites.)

The biggest snub — as far as SEC schools are concerned — seems to be Arkansas (37-19 overall). The Razorbacks finished third in the league but had an RPI of 30.

The full field of 64 will be announced Monday at 11 a.m. CT on ESPNU. The Rebels (37-22) have been projected by various national prognosticators as being all over the map, mostly landing at ACC schools or future ACC member Louisville: says the Rebels are headed to Louisville. Ball State and Illinois join the Rebels on Dan McDonnell’s turf.
Fitt projects the Rebels headed to the Blacksburg (Va.) Regional as the two-seed, with Liberty and East Tennessee State (where former Rebels Xan Barksdale and Kyle Bunn are on the coaching staff).
Rogers sends Ole Miss to N.C. State as a two-seed in the Raleigh (N.C.) regional. Canisius and Campbell round out the Raleigh Regional.

Below is the NCAA’s release:

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 67th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted May 31 through June 3.

Two institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 30 and LSU with 21. South Carolina is hosting for the 15th time. Mississippi State (12th) and Cal State Fullerton (11th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

North Carolina is hosting for the eighth time, while Virginia is hosting a regional for the seventh time and UCLA is hosting for the fifth time. North Carolina State and Oregon State are hosting for the fourth time, while Louisville and Vanderbilt for the third time. Oregon is hosting for the second time, while rounding out the list and hosting for the first time are Indiana, Kansas State, and Virginia Tech.

Eight institutions (Florida State, LSU, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Oregon, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2012.

The ACC leads the way with five hosts, the SEC has four, and the Pac-12 has three. The Big East, Big 12, Big Ten and Big West each have one school hosting.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at noon ET Monday. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced June 3 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 67th College World Series begins play June 15 at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

 (May 27, 2013)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    First National Bank The Highlands, A Private Lake Community