Online Edition
Monday, May 25, 2015

NBC names Kennedy SEC Coach of the Year

Saturday’s 81-67 win over LSU on the road not only gave the Ole Miss Rebels their first 12-win season in Southeastern Conference play since 1998, but it also helped garner an honor for head coach Andy Kennedy in the process. 

Kennedy was awarded the SEC’s Coach of the Year Monday by as part of their 2012-2013 All-Conference Team selection. Joining Kennedy, who has led the Rebels to a 23-8 mark, on the team was junior guard Marshall Henderson, who lead the SEC in scoring with a 19.7 points per game average this year. Henderson also topped the SEC in made 3-pointers per contest (3.9).

Joining Henderson on the team are Missouri point guard Phil Pressey, Georgia’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Kentucky’s Nerlens Noel, who was lost for the rest of the year Feb. 12 at Florida, and Tennessee’s Jordan McRae, who was tabbed Player of the Year. McRae finished the regular season ranked fourth in the SEC in scoring (16.2) and was eighth in field goal percentage. Caldwell-Pope finished second in scoring (18.0), Pressey topped the SEC in the assists (7.1), while Noel led the league in blocked shots (4.4). (March 12, 2013, Page 7)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    The Highlands, A Private Lake Community Oxford Eagle