Online Edition
Friday, May 22, 2015

Holloway, Henderson, Buckner earn spots on All-SEC teams

 The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men’s basketball coaches postseason awards this morning to cap off the regular season.

Florida’s Billy Donovan earned SEC  Coach of the Year honors while Georgia sophomore Kentavious Caldwell-Pope was selected the SEC  Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. Kentucky’s Nerlens Noel took home SEC Freshman of the Year and SEC Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Kentucky’s Kyle Wiltjer was tabbed SEC Sixth Man of the Year while Florida’s Patric Young earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

Ole Miss didn’t have a player named to the first team despite junior Marshall Henderson leading the SEC in scoring with 19.7 points per game and leading the SEC in 3-point shots made per game (3.9). Henderson was named to the second team along with senior forward Murphy Holloway. Senior forward Reginald Buckner, a native of Memphis, was named to the All-Defensive team. Holloway led the SEC in rebounds per game (9.6), while Buckner finished second to Noel in blocked shots per game (2.7).

Joining Henderson and Hollloway on the second team were Arkansas’ Marshawn Powell and BJ Young, Florida’s Kenny Boynton, Mike Rosario and Young, Missouri’s Laurence Bowers and Tennessee’s Jarnell Stokes.

No Ole Miss player was named to the All-Freshman team, although the Mississippi State Bulldogs had two in Craig Sword and Gavin Ware.

This is the second SEC  Coach of the Year honor for Donovan, who led the Gators to a 14-4 mark in league play and a 24-6 overall record. The Gators earned their fourth SEC championship under the direction of Donovan and the fifth in school history.

Caldwell-Pope, who ranks second in the SEC in scoring (18.0) and third in steals (2.1 spg), is one of only 10 players in NCAA Division I to score in double figures in every one of their team’s games this season. The Greenville, Ga., native becomes the first Georgia player to be named SEC  Player of the Year by the league’s coaches.

Noel blocked 106 shots in his 24 games before going down with a knee injury on Feb. 12. Despite the shortened season, his 106 blocks ranked second in UK single-season history and third among SEC Freshmen behind Anthony Davis (186) and Shaquille O’Neal (115). He set a UK single-game record with 12 blocked shots at Ole Miss and finished the year averaging 10.5 points and 9.5 rebounds per game.

Young earned the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award for the second consecutive year, sporting a 3.38 grade-point average in Telecommunications. The junior from Jacksonville, Fla., is averaging 10.5 points and 6.2 rebounds for the nationally-ranked Gators.

Wiltjer won the SEC’s Sixth Man of the Year award after averaging 10.5 points, 4.3 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game.

Coaches voted on eight member teams for First Team All-SEC, Second Team All-SEC  and for the SEC  All-Freshman Team. They voted on a five-player squad for the SEC  All-Defensive Team. They were not permitted to vote for their own players and ties were not broken.

  (March 12, 2013, Page 7)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    The Highlands, A Private Lake Community REMAX Legacy Realty