Online Edition
Saturday, May 23, 2015

MHSAA announces new regions

The Mississippi High School Activities Association recently released the its reclassification for the next two years.

Oxford will remain in Region 1-5A for football and Division 2-5A for everything else. Joining OHS in Divison 2-5A are New Hope, Saltillo and West Point, while Divison 1-5A teams Center Hill, Clarksdale, Lake Cormorant and Lewisburg will comprise the Region 1-5A.

Oxford’s region lost Hernando and gained Lewisburg for football.

Lafayette remained in Region 2-4A along with Byhalia, New Albany, Rosa Fort and Senatobia. Ripley replaces Lewisburg, who moved up to 5A, in the region.

Water Valley’s Region 2-3A experienced the area’s biggest shakeup. Along with the Blue Devils, Charleston, Holly Springs, Independence, M.S. Palmer and North Panola will comprise the region.

For more on the recent shuffling of schools, see Monday’s print edition of the Oxford EAGLE. (November 30, 2012, Page 7A)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    Oxford Eagle First National Bank