Online Edition
Thursday, May 28, 2015

Sawyer, Campbell named to All-SEC Coaches team

Two members of the Ole Miss football team were named to the 2012 Southeastern Conference Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team today. Senior punter Tyler Campbell and junior defensive back Charles Sawyer both earned spots on the third team. This marks the ninth straight year of the SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team.

There were three Mississippi State Bulldogs who made the annual team. They included senior safety Jonthan Banks (first team), junior offensive lineman Gabe Jackson (second) and senior defensive tackle Josh Boyd (third).

A trio of teams from the SEC West leads the players on this year’s team. LSU and Alabama lead all teams from the SEC with 11 players on this year’s team, while the Tigers have a league-high seven on the first team. Alabama had four players make the first team, four on the second team and three on the third team. Arkansas has the second most amount of players on the three squads with 10.

There are nine first-team preseason selections that were on last year’s first-team coaches All-SEC postseason team.

Those include: offensive lineman Barrett Jones (Alabama); offensive lineman Alex Hurst (LSU); quarterback Tyler Wilson (Arkansas); defensive lineman Sam Montgomery (LSU); defensive lineman Corey Lemonier (Auburn); linebacker Jarvis Jones (Georgia); defensive back Tyrann Mathieu (LSU); defensive back Bacarri Rambo (Georgia) and place-kicker Caleb Sturgis (Florida).

The All-SEC first-team squad had 12 seniors and 16 underclassmen, including 14 juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 17 seniors, 10 juniors and one sophomore.  The third-team had 16 seniors, 12 juniors and three sophomores.

The first team running backs this year include two players that are trying to recover from injuries in South Carolina junior Marcus Lattimore and Arkansas junior Knile Davis. The remaining members of the first-team offense include: Tennessee wide receiver Da’Rick Rogers, Arkansas wide receiver Cobi Hamilton, Texas A&M wide receiver Ryan Swope, Auburn tight end Phillip Lutzenkirchen, Alabama offensive lineman D.J. Fluker, Texas A&M Luke Joeckel and Kentucky offensive lineman Larry Warford.

Remaining members of the first-team defense include: South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, LSU defensive end Barkevious Mingo, Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley, Alabama linebacker Nico Johnson, Texas A&M linebacker Sean Porter and LSU safety Eric Reid.

The first-team punter is LSU’s Brad Wing. Mathieu is the return specialist on the first team, while Arkansas’ Dennis Johnson made the first team as a specialist as well. (July 12, 2012, Page 6)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    REMAX Legacy Realty First National Bank