Online Edition
Monday, May 25, 2015

Ole Miss to host SEC Men’s Tournament

After serving as the site of the 2012 Southeastern Conference Women’s Tennis Tournament, Ole Miss will crown an SEC tennis champion again in 2013 but this time on the men’s side, as the league finalized its 2012-13 championship sites Thursday.

The event is set for April 17-21 and will mark the fourth time the Palmer/Salloum Tennis Center/Galtney Courts has hosted an SEC Championship. The men’s tournament was also held in Oxford in 2003, while the women’s tourney was accommodated in 2000 and 2012.

Other recent SEC Championships staged at Ole Miss include softball in 2011, cross country in 2009, women’s golf in 2005, outdoor track and field in 2004 and soccer in 2002. In addition, the Rebel rifle program has hosted the GARC Championships annually since 2005.

The SEC handles the bid process for future neutral-site championships and works to solidify those at least five years in advance where possible. For on-campus championships, the alphabetical alignment of the Eastern and Western divisions serves as the basis for the rotation, depending on facility arrangements. Missouri and Texas A&M have been placed in the alphabetical rotation for their division. Each year alternates the site between the Western and Eastern Divisions for each sport and then moves alphabetically through each division. (June 15, 2012, Page 7A)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    First National Bank REMAX Legacy Realty