Online Edition
Thursday, May 28, 2015

Horned Frogs eliminate Rebels from postseason play

BLOG: Welp, this is it. Win, and the Rebels will be headed to UCLA for the Los Angeles Super Regional. Lose to TCU and Ole Miss will be headed home to Oxford.

First pitch for tonight’s must-win game is sets or 6:35 p.m. The game will be broadcast on ESPNU.

Tonight’s winner-take-all game will feature both starters from Game 1 of the College Station (Texas) Regional in Ole Miss ace Bobby Wahl and TCU All-America selection Preston Morrison.

It will be interesting to see how much the two starters are relied on considering they’ll be throwing on just two days rest.

In Game 1, Wahl picked up the win after allowing two runs over seven innings. Wahl also threw 118 pitches in the win, while Morrison threw 85 in 6.1 innings against the Rebels. Morrison earned a no decision after allowing two runs in 6.1 innings.

DRAFT DAY: Not only is today a big day for the current Rebels, it could also have a big impact on the team moving forward as the first round and the first compensation round of the 2012 Major League Baseball First-Year Player’s Draft are tonight. The draft will be televised on MLB Network and will also be streamed HERE.

Expect to see the names of Ole Miss signess Gavin Cecchini, Stryker Trahan and Ty Hensley all called tonight. Cecchini was actually one of a select few who were invited to attend the draft in person.


OLE MISS REBELS (37-25 overall)
RF Tanner Mathis (.353 BA/.455 OBP/.407 SLG)
2B Alex Yarbrough (.384/.441/.514)
1B Matt Snyder (.336/.400/.562)
LF Zach Kirksey (.285/.382/.628)
CF Auston Bousfield (.281/.354/.364)
DH Sikes Orvis (.231/.322/.327)
C Will Allen (.298/.330/.389)
3B Andrew Mistone (.237/.300/.294)
SS Jake Overbey (.194/.324/.194)
RHP Bobby Wahl (7-3, 2.28 ERA)

CF Kyle Von Tungeln (.299/.400/.421)
C Josh Elander (.314/.442/.510)
1B Kevin Cron (.357/.442/.510)
3B Jantzen Witte (.314/.365/.425)
2B Derek Odell (.282/.344/.436)
LF Jerrick Suiter (.316/.385/.391)
DH Josh Gonzalez (.255/.345/.353)
RF Brance Rivera (.220/.338/.323)
SS Keaton Jones (.174/.295/.199)
RHP Preston Morrison (9-1, 1.80)


OLE MISS 1, TCU 0 (Top 1): Right fielder Tanner Mathis led off the game with a double to right-center and two batters later came around to score on a groundout by Matt Snyder.

TCU 2, Ole Miss 1 (Bottom 4): The Horned Frogs surged ahead of Ole Miss in the fourth thanks to two solo home runs by first baseman Kevin Cron and third baseman Jantzen Witte.

OLE MISS 3, TCU 2 (Top 5): Ole Miss quickly responded by scoring two in the top of the fifth. Third baseman Andrew Mistone scored on a single by second baseman Alex Yarbrough up the middle, and two batters later Mathis scored on a sacrifice fly to left by left fielder Zach Kirksey.

TCU 4, OLE MISS 3 (Bottom 5): Continuing the trend, TCU plated two more runs in the bottom half of the fifth on a groundout by Keaton Jones and a single by center fielder Kyle Von Tungeln. Von Tungeln’s single up the middle ended Bobby Wahl‘s day.

TCU 5, Ole Miss 3 (Bottom 6): Brance Rivera extends TCU’s lead to 5-3 with a double that scores Derek Odell from second. Odell led off the frame with a hit-by-pitch and advanced to second on a balk call that brought Ole Miss head coach Mike Bianco out of the dugout to argue with the officiating crew.

TCU 7, Ole Miss 3 (Bottom 7): TCU extended its lead in the seventh on back-to-back RBI-singles by Witte and second baseman Derek Odell.

TCU 7, OLE MISS 4 (Top 9): Ole Miss tacked on one run in the top of the ninth on a single by Mathis that scored pinch runner Blake Newalu.


After surrendering the sacrifice fly to Kirksey, TCU sidearmer Justin Scharf clamped down on the Rebels, limiting them to just one run the rest of the game. Over 4.2 innings, Scharf was credited with just one earned run on four hits and one walk to earn the win. Wahl was hit with the loss after allowing four runs in 4.1 innings for Ole Miss. With the win, TCU will advance to play UCLA in the Los Angeles Super Regional. The loss ends Ole Miss’ season with a record of 37-26… Mathis led all hitters with a 3-for-4 day. He also had one walk, scored twice and drove in a run. Will Allen and Mistone each had two hits. Kyle Von Tungeln, Elander, Witte and Rivera each had two hits for TCU.


 C Josh Elander (TCU)
1B Kevin Cron (TCU)
2B Derek Odell (TCU)
3B Andrew Mistone (Ole Miss)
SS Mikey Reynolds (Texas A&M)
OF Tanner Mathis (Ole Miss)
OF Kyle Von Tungeln (TCU)
OF Jerrick Suiter (TCU)
P Stefan Crichton (TCU)
P Justin Scharf (TCU)
UT Tyler Naquin (Texas A&M)
MVP Scharf


Ole Miss second baseman Alex Yarbrough, head coach Mike Bianco and right-hander Bobby Wahl discuss the loss:

 (June 4, 2012)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    REMAX Legacy Realty The Highlands, A Private Lake Community