Online Edition
Sunday, May 24, 2015

Melson, McFarland recognized by SEC

Ole Miss senior Kayla Melson was named Second Team All-Southeastern Confernece and Valencia McFarland earned a spot on the conference’s All-Freshman team it was announced by the league on Tuesday.Tennessee’s Shekinna Stricklen was named Player of the Year and Pat Summitt was named the Coach of the Year.

Kentucky’s Victoria Dunlap was named Defensive Player of the Year, Vanderbilt’s Stephanie Holzer was named 6th Woman of the Year and Tennessee’s Meighan Simmons was given the Freshman of the Year honors.

Mississippi State’s Mary Kathryn Govero was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
All the awards were chosen by the league’s 12 coaches.

The complete 2011 SEC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

Members of the first team are as follows: Tierney Jenkins (Alabama), Alli Smalley (Auburn), Porsha Phillips (Georgia), Dunlap, LaSondra Barrett (LSU),  Stricklen, Glory Johnson (Tennessee) and Jence Rhoads (Vanderbilt).

Members of the second team are as follows: C’eira Ricketts (Arkansas), Sarah Watkins (Arkansas), Jasmine James (Georgia), A’dia Mathies (Kentucky),  Melson, Govero, Iesia Walker (South Carolina) and Simmons.

Members of the freshman team included: Kaneisha Horn (Alabama), Jaterra Bonds (Florida), Khaalidah Miller Georgia), Bernisha Pinkett (Kentucky),  Mcfarland, Simmons,  Jasmine Lister (Vanderbilt) and Holzer.

The All-Devensive team included: Jenkins, Meredith Mitchell (Georgia), Dunlap, Mathies, Katherine Graham (LSU) and Johnson. (March 1, 2011, Page 9)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    Oxford Eagle First National Bank