Online Edition
Friday, May 22, 2015

Robertson wins SEC high jump title

Ole Miss sophomore Ricky Robertson claimed his third straight Southeastern Conference high jump championship at the 2011 SEC Indoor Championships held over the weekend at Arkansas’ Randal Tyson Track Center. Robertson, who won the high jump indoor and outdoor league crowns last year, won the event with a height of 7 feet-03.25 inches to earn 10 of the Rebels’ 19 total points.

The sophomore from Hernando holds the No. 2 spot nationally in the high jump with a school-record and NCAA automatic qualifying mark of 7-05.75 from earlier this season.

Ole Miss finished 10th overall in the men’s meet, while the women finished 10th out of 12 teams with a total of 24 points. Sophomore Mike Granger finished seventh in the 60 meter dash with a time of 6.71 seconds. Caleb Lee was sixth in the long jump with a 25-02.75, while senior Jonathan Juin was eighth in the 200 with a 21.48.

The women’s team was led by freshman Fabia McDonald, who set a new school record in the pentahlon with a score of 3,922 points that placed her past LaToya McBride’s former total of 3,852 set in the 2005 SEC Championships. Logan Waites set a new school record in the 5,000 meter run with a time of 17 minutes, 08 seconds. Sofie Persson finished fourth in the 800 with a 2:06.50, while the 4×400 relay team finished sixth overall. (February 28, 2011, Page 8)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    Oxford Eagle REMAX Legacy Realty