Online Edition
Thursday, May 28, 2015

Rebels name captains

The Ole Miss football team kicked off the first game week of the season by announcing its 2010 team captains Sunday night in a team meeting at the Overby Center on campus.

The captains, which were voted on by the players last weekend, include WR Lionel Breaux (New Orleans, La.), S Johnny Brown (Charleston), LB Jonathan Cornell (Azusa, Calif.), DE Kentrell Lockett (Hahnville, La.) and DT Jerrell Powe (Waynesboro).

“They’re the heart and soul of the team, they’re our backbone,” Ole Miss  coach Houston Nutt said. “They’ve led our team since January. They led in every way, as far as weight room, classroom, lockerroom and then on the field.”

Prior to the team meeting, the Rebels held a short walk-thru in helmets and shorts in the Indoor Practice Facility. Nutt said the players are excited to shift from practice to game mode.

“They’re tired of hitting each other and ready to hit someone else,” Nutt said. “We’ve had a good camp, but now it’s gameweek and we’re looking forward to it.” (August 30, 2010, Page 3B)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    Oxford Eagle REMAX Legacy Realty