Online Edition
Thursday, April 17, 2014

Pomeranz, Huber earn All-SEC honors

HOOVER, Ala. — Ole Miss junior pitcher Drew Pomeranz was announced as the Southeastern Conference’s Pitcher of the Year on Tuesday, becoming the first Rebel to ever win the award.

In addition to Pomeranz, who also made the All-SEC First Team, Ole Miss closer Brett Huber was named to the All-SEC Second Team and Freshman Team.

Here’s the release from Ole Miss, and the complete list of awards:

Junior left-hander Drew Pomeranz has been named Southeastern Conference Pitcher of the Year and is one of two Rebels selected for All-SEC honors, the league office announced on Tuesday.

In addition to being named SEC Pitcher of the Year, Pomeranz was also named a first team All-SEC selection as a starting pitcher while freshman right-hander Brett Huber was named a second team All-SEC selection as a reliever. Huber was also named to the All-Freshman team.

Pomeranz is the first Pitcher of the Year selection from Ole Miss. Stephen Head was named the SEC Player of the Year in 2004, while Seth Smith (2002), Head (2003) and Jordan Henry (2007) all earned SEC Freshman of the Year honors.

This season, Pomeranz has served as the Friday night starter for the Rebels pitching staff and anchored the weekend rotation in that role. The southpaw has posted a 7-2 record on the year and leads the Southeastern Conference in strikeouts (127), ERA (2.39) and opposing batting average (.186) while helping Ole Miss compile an overall record of 36-20 and 16-14 in the Southeastern Conference.

The Rebels advanced to the SEC Tournament for the eighth straight season this year as the sixth-seeded team and will face South Carolina on Wednesday at approximately 1:00 p.m. at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala.

With his six strikeouts against No. 16 Auburn this past Thursday, Pomeranz hit the 332 strikeout mark for his career, tying for the top spot on the career strikeout list at Ole Miss with Lance Lynn. Pomeranz will get a chance to break that mark against the Gamecocks on Wednesday.

A preseason All-America selection, Pomeranz was tabbed by Baseball America as the Midseason Player and Pitcher of the Year and is also a semi-finalist for the Dick Howser Award and is on the watch list for the Golden Spikes Player of the Year Award. He was named the 2010 winner of the Cellular South Ferriss Trophy on Monday night as the state of Mississippi’s top collegiate baseball player.

Huber earned second team All-SEC honors and selection to the All-Freshman team as a reliever this season, helping pace the Rebels with 10 saves on the season and a 2-0 record in relief appearances. Nine of Huber’s 10 saves come in Southeastern Conference play, leading the league in saves in conference play. His one save outside of conference play came against Arkansas State on May 13.

The right-hander was named SEC Pitcher of the Week on May 3 following a series sweep at Mississippi State in which the freshman picked up a pair of saves and also posted a relief win earlier in the week against Murray State. Huber holds a 2.72 ERA on the year and has posted 51 strikeouts while walking only 17 in 43.0 innings of work this season. He is also holding opponents to a .186 batting average against this year.

Huber, Pomeranz and the Rebels will return to action when Ole Miss opens the Southeastern Conference Tournament on Wednesday against the Gamecocks of South Carolina. The game will be the second of the day at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala., and follow approximately 30 minutes after the conclusion of the day’s first game between Auburn and Alabama that begins at 9:30 a.m.

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Hunter Morris, Auburn
SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Drew Pomeranz, Ole Miss
SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Austin Maddox, Florida
SEC COACH OF THE YEAR – Kevin O’Sullivan, Florida

1B – Hunter Morris, Auburn
2B – Anthony Gomez, Vanderbilt
3B – Zack Cox, Arkansas
SS – Josh Rutledge, Alabama
C -  Micah Gibbs, LSU
OF – Taylor Dugas, Alabama
OF – Trent Mummey, Auburn
OF – Brian Fletcher, Auburn
DH – Kevin Patterson, Auburn
P – Blake Cooper, South Carolina
P – Drew Pomeranz, Ole Miss
RP -  Kevin Chapman, Florida

1B – Preston Tucker, Florida
2B – Chris Bisson, Kentucky
3B – Austin Maddox, Florida
SS – Austin Nola, LSU
SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida
C – Ryan Jenkins, Auburn
OF – Matt den Dekker, Florida
OF – Brett Eibner, Arkansas
OF – Jackie Bradley Jr., South Carolina
DH – Matt Gaudet, LSU
P – Drew Smyly, Arkansas
P – Grant Dayton, Auburn
P – Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt
RP – Matt Price, South Carolina
RP – Brett Huber, Ole Miss

1B – Christian Walker, South Carolina
2B – Anthony Gomez, Vanderbilt
3B – Austin Maddox, Florida
SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida
C – Mike Zunino, Florida
OF – Andrew Miller, Alabama
OF – Evan Marzilli, South Carolina
OF – Chris Fritts, Tennessee
OF – Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt
DH – Brian Johnson, Florida
P – Hudson Randall, Florida
P – Brian Johnson, Florida
P – Chris Stratton, Mississippi State
RP – Brett Huber, Ole Miss
RP – Matt Price, South Carolina

P – Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt
1B – Preston Tucker, Florida
2B – Scott Wingo, South Carolina
SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida
3B – Jake Smith, Alabama
C – Micah Gibbs, LSU
OF – Matt den Dekker, Florida
OF – Trent Mummey, Auburn
OF – Jackie Bradley Jr., South Carolina (May 25, 2010)

Share this Oxford Eagle story.

    Leave a Reply

    Oxford Eagle REMAX Legacy Realty